Please Enter a Search Term

Students recognized for integrity, engagement and initiative in the classroom

by: MUN


TORONTO (November, 2011) – To recognize and reward students who enhance the learning environment at their college or university, McGraw-Hill Ryerson Limited, a leading Canadian publisher of educational resources and information products and services, announces it has selected the winners of its annual McGraw-Hill Ryerson Student Scholarship Award program.

This year McGraw-Hill Ryerson offered 20 individual $1,000 scholarships to any full-time undergraduate student currently studying at a college or university in Canada. More than 500 nominations for the scholarships were received this year.

Winners of the 2011 scholarship are:
Abby Stephens, Mohawk College, Province of Ontario
Andrea Driedger, University of Manitoba, Province of Manitoba
Candice Boekestyn, Brock University, Province of Ontario
Catherine Andrea Landriault, Dalhousie University, Province of Nova Scotia
Cole Nadalin, Lambton College, Province of Ontario
Dayna Steinfeld, University of Manitoba, Province of Manitoba
Dena Wheeler, College of the North Atlantic, Province of Newfoundland
Gina Colbourne,   Memorial University of Newfoundland, Province of Newfoundland
Jesse Oakes, Lambton College, Province of Ontario
Katelyn Forgione, Seneca College, Province of Ontario
Krysteena Gadzala,  University of Waterloo, Province of Ontario
Lisa Buchanan, Georgian College, Province of Ontario
Magdalena Jung, Saint Mary’s University, Province of Nova Scotia
Michael Holmgren, Camosun College, Province of British Columbia
Michelle Shurland-Jadoo, Durham College, Province of Ontario
Robert Jackson, Camosun College, Province of British Columbia
Roberta  Price, Native Education College, Province of British Columbia
Sarah D’Angelo, McMaster University, Province of Ontario
Simon Gabsch, Conestoga College, Province of Ontario
Timothy Anderson, Lethbridge College, Province of Alberta

In addition to academic and personal integrity, nominations were evaluated based on the student’s classroom engagement and initiative. The scholarship review committee, a non-partisan board including educators and administrators from colleges and universities across Canada, reviewed the applications. The committee looks for students who show respect and empathy for others, whose overall behaviour and participation have a positive impact on the classroom, and who draw upon the full array of learning resources available to them. To be eligible for the scholarship, each student must be nominated by a professor.

“It is evident these winners bring exceptional value to the classroom based on the nominations we received. We are proud to celebrate these students’ involvement in enhancing their educational experience and that of their peers,” said Patrick Ferrier, president of McGraw-Hill Ryerson Higher Education. “As a major provider of learning solutions, McGraw-Hill Ryerson looks forward to continuing to recognize outstanding individuals through our scholarship program.”
McGraw-Hill Ryerson will accept 2012 scholarship nominations until June 30th, 2012. More information on the program and nomination guidelines may be obtained at

for students
Emilio Lalli wrote: Posted

Simply a smiling visitor here to share the love (:, btw great design .

Reply to this comment
Post Comments